Fun in Leicester

Standard

Hey guys.

First things first, don’t you just love my new page! I do! Check out the Contact me page for links to Facebook, Google+  Twitter and my party diary to see where I’ll be popping up next!

Last week I witnessed the MOTHER of all fancy dress parties. Now at most fancy dress parties you’ll find the obligatory, cats, cowboys, school girls, superheroes or some form of slutty Disney character. So when I ventured up to Leicester for an open entry fancy dress competition I did have certain expectations. HOWEVER……these were BLOWN out the water, I mean like nuclearized bombs couldn’t have touched it. I’ll give a little background information before I start the costume parade.

I had a couple of mates still floating around in Leicester at De Momfort University doing various things and after seeing their pictures on Facebook and the fun they have (and having very very hazy memories about my own experiences in Leicester)I thought I’d head up again and see what they have to offer.

The city itself is really lovely, if only I had a spare £1000 for a little shopping spree because Leicester looks like the place I’d be able to spend it rather nicely. So after a painful few hours of wishful window shopping, I caught up with the girls (and boy) over a quiet drink at a pub called The Reynard. It’s a nice venue, really high ceilings on two floors, cream and yellow interior and a cracking food menu. I had a big ole’ steak, glass of wine and polished off a slice of lemon tart with ice cream. Perfect pre-boozy food. It was clear there were a lot of regulars in the place because there seemed to be a good bit of banter passing back and forth from both sides of the bar. It was nice thing to see; it gave the pub some life and made an interesting session of ear wigging.

The Reynard

So, fake tan on, uncomfortable underwear set and with a pair of even more uncomfortable (yet fabulous!)  heels, it was time to hit the town. Varsity is always a student staple in any city so we started there. It was a lot smaller than the other Varsity’s I’ve been to in the past but boy – Was it busy!!

As I said it was a fancy dress party and if I had known beforehand I think I would have joined in the fun with some old University costume I’d used back when I was a student. I was quite content with admiring everyone elses hard work to be honest. With that in mind…..check out these AMMMAAZZING outfits. These are my top four but check facebook to see the rest of them.

Aribaaaaa!

Safety First!

Thirsty? With Steve the manager

Pile up!

 

Scores on the (royal) doors:  

 

Food and service:  Really good bit of steak at The Reynard. Even though the staff looked a little over whelmed in Varsity they all had a smile on their faces.

Atmosphere and decoration:  Really relaxed in The Reynard, massive contrast to the craziness of Varsity.

Facilities:  All clean and shiny.

Talent Radar:  Hard to tell under the costumes – but how can you resist a man in tights!

Fun Factor: AWESOME time. My hats off to you Leicester!

Perfect for: The Reynard – Chill out, quiet dinner, cheeky glass of wine

Varsity – Pre-drinking, shots, pitchers, all things student-y

In 3 words: CRAZY CRAZY COSTUMES

Don’t just take my word for it though! Check out other reviews for The Reynard on View Leicester and Qype

One response »

  1. Pingback: Leicester, Take Two…ACTION! « lifeandsoulprincess

Leave a Reply

