Varsity Manchester

Standard

Hello – again, did you miss me?

When I was a weeh baby princess (about 17/18) I spent a LOT of time in Manchester, going to gigs, shopping, partying and generally hanging out and I have always wanted an excuse to go back and visit to see if the Manchester party spirit is still alive!

With my found memories alive and kicking I headed to Manchester for the Varsity launch of their new promo night “Reem On!” (http://www.facebook.com/Varsity.Man) Poor old Joey Essex, I bet when he started that show he didn’t know how popular his catch phrase would be. Well it’s made its way up north and Reem On is aimed at lassoing the students out of halls (which is just above Varsity actually) and show them a Manchester welcome.

This particular Varsity is at the top of Oxford road its where most of the student bars, gig venues and halls are based so it’s a great location to live if your one of the lucky students to live there.

Note the foozball table - I challenge you to a duel

I arrived to a see a nice healthy bunch of students wallowing in their hangovers and cooked breakfast. The smell was too much and I cracked with a bacon sarnie, pot of beans and a cup of tea, best way to start a Wednesday morning in my opinion.http://hub.varsitybars.co.uk/_assets/files/Barra-1858-Varsity-Menu-LOW-AW-LoRes.pdf Doesnt the menu look yummy!

As I’ve said I spent a good few weekends in Varsity but it sure has changed from then to now. The massive TV screens have gone, gone has the “old man style” décor and that nasty warm white wine smell has drifted on to pastures new. All the interior walls have been removed so it’s one huge open space which makes it look 10000000 times bigger than I remember it to be. To separate the pub out, open door frames have been put up in different parts of the bar and instead of a door, there are hanging plastic crystal style curtains or ribbons of bright coloured material. There are booths and sofas and mixtures of low and high level tables all with different styles of chairs – very creative.

After my breakfast I couldn’t help notice a MASSIVE gorilla looking at me from the other side of the bar. Turns out its one of the longer serving bar staff, and as a reward for all is hard work, he had been condemned to a day in a monkey suite (Think of the gorilla drummer from the Cadbury adverts) and after a chat and few diet cokes later I was in dragged along in a session of flyering/stickering along Oxford road near all the student halls, lectures rooms and around the other student pubs. As the theme for the night’s party was PC PLOD, a flashing policeman hat was plonked on my head and away we went!

Monkey had to make a quick phone call!

After a shower, make-up on, heels precariously placed and fed and watered I was back to enjoy my night! The place was buzzing, little slow to begin with but everyone seemed to be in good spirits. Overall I had a great time catching up with some old mates and revisiting my past. It was a night Joey Essex would have been proud of! Well reem babes, hope your jeal. If not I hope this video sways you http://www.facebook.com/VarsityBars?sk=app_154621764620492

I think he loves Varsity!!

Scores on the (royal) doors: 

Food and service:  How can you NOT love being served by a 6ft gorilla?
Atmosphere and decoration:  Really good referb’ they gone done a job!!
Facilities:  All clean, sparkly and comfy.
Talent Radar:  Not all too bad, little young for my liking. All a bit too drunk too. ‘hick’
Fun Factor: Lots of fun, nice venue, great staff, even better customers.
Perfect for: Hangover cure, quick pick me up coffee before class, shots at the ready!
In 3 words: Well Reem Babe’s

Don’t just take my word for it though! Check out other reviews at: http://www.whathappenedlastnight.net/manchester/bars/varsity%20manchester or
http://www.viewmanchester.co.uk/pubsandbars/varsity-manchester-info-31303.html

Me with the Manchester students

Leave a Reply

